Jul
05
2016

Michelle Wie Knows First Hand that Rules can be Cruel

The 2016 US Open will likely be remembered more for the controversy and somewhat farcical decision making of the rules officials, than potentially one of the best Major Championship performances of a generation by the eventual winner Dustin Johnson. The whole episode now dubbed ‘Amateur Hour’ immediately reminded me of the time back in 2008 when a then 18-year old Wie fell short of the rules, and felt the punishment.

Looking for her first professional win, Wiezy sat just one stroke off of the lead after the second round at Panther Creek Country Club. Just minutes after finishing her third round she was sat in front of the cameras, red-eyed, explaining why she had been disqualified from the tournament. Failing to sign her second round card was her costly mistake.

“I don't know why or how it happened," Wie said.

This will forever be a part of the most infamous rules mishaps. Joining Johnson and Wiezy is Tiger Woods whose drop on the 15th hole and subsequent penalty, potentially cost him his 15th major. Ian Woosnam also joins the club when during the 2001 British Open his caddie notified him that they were carrying 15 clubs. He flung the extra driver into the woods. 

Mistakes like this can make the pros want to throw out the rule book altogether.

Flashing to 2016, and Wiezy is potentially looking to create some new rules of her own. This time these changes may be happening on a national scale, as she took a trip to visit the White House. 

This was of course a trip with her fellow Solheim Cup team members. While she is enjoying these trips for now, Wie need to ensure her form between now and the 2017 battle against Europe improves, otherwise trips like this will no longer be behind closed doors.

Want more from the unofficial groupies? Check out Helen and Jason Dufner here.


Get Inside The Game

Register